Ormond Plantation

O rmond Plantation in Destrehan was built prior to 1790 and is believed to be one of the oldest French West Indies style Creole plantations on the Mississippi River. Pierre Trépagnier built the original plantation after having received the land from Louisiana’s Spanish Governor Bernardo de Galvez as a gift for his valor against the English. Trépagnier received a tract that reached from the Mississippi River to Lake Pontchartrain. He then erected a two-story raised cottage with deep galleries and a cypress roof. Richard Butler purchased the plantation after the War of 1812 and named it “Ormond,” after Ormond Castle in Ireland, the home of James Butler, Earl of Ormond. A major restoration

Ormond Plantation.

took place in the mid-twentieth century by Mr. and Mrs. Alfred Brown of Brown’s Velvet Ice Cream and Avery Island (McIlhenny) respectively. One of only three plantations remaining today in St. Charles Parish, the Ormond mansion sits on a sixteen-acre site and is owned by John Carmouche.

 

 

 

< < Prev Next > >

 

Explore...


 Images

Ormond Plantation by Fr. Paret The Scheckschneider (Schexnaydre) and Zeringue families standing in front of Ormond Plantation in Destrehan.
(Photo courtesy of Larry and Sharon Schexnaydre)

> > See More


 Related Entries

Paintings of the 1811 Slave Revolt by artist Lorraine Gendron

1811 Slave Revolt
he slave Charles Deslondes is thought to have been brought from St. Domingue…

 

artTitle

The Antebellum Period
In the eighteenth century, many early colonists were afforded land grants and established…

> > Related Entries


 Media

VIDEO

Life on Waterford Plantation

VIDEO

Plantation Documentary

> > See More



 

 

 

 

 

 

Copyright © This text is copyright material by Marilyn Richoux, Joan Becnel and Suzanne Friloux, from St. Charles Parish, Louisiana: A Pictorial History, 2010.