T he parish seat of government has probably been at its same location in Hahnville since the establishment of the first courthouse in the early 1800s, although no written or pictorial information on that first location has yet been discovered or translated. An 1826 picture of what is believed to be the second courthouse does exist. Early maps and records only refer to the area as Saint Charles or Courthouse.

The courthouse in 1826.

 

 

< < Prev Next > >

 

 

 

Explore...


 Images

The courthouse is demolished in 1976. (Photo courtesy of the St. Charles Library) The courthouse undergoes an expansion in 1921.

> > See More


 Related Entries

 

The new St. Charles Parish Courthouse in Hahnville was completed in 1976 at the same site as the former house.

Evolution of the Courthouse
The new St. Charles Parish Courthouse in Hahnville was completed in…

> > Related Entries


  External Links



 

 

 

 

 

 

Copyright © This text is copyright material by Marilyn Richoux, Joan Becnel and Suzanne Friloux, from St. Charles Parish, Louisiana: A Pictorial History, 2010.

 


Cite this Entry

MLA Style

Becnel, Joan Weaver, Suzanne Friloux, and Marilyn Mayhall Richoux. "Exploration and Discovery
(1542-1647)." Museum. History of St. Charles . St. Charles Museum and Historical Association,
29 2012. Web. 30 Nov 2012. <http://museum.historyofstcharlesparish.org>.

APA Style

Becnel, Joan Weaver, Suzanne Friloux, and Marilyn Mayhall Richoux. "Exploration and Discovery
(1542-1647)." Museum. History of St. Charles . St. Charles Museum and Historical Association,
29 2012. Web. 30 Nov 2012. <http://museum.historyofstcharlesparish.org>.

Chicago Style

Becnel, Joan Weaver, Suzanne Friloux, and Marilyn Mayhall Richoux. "Exploration and Discovery
(1542-1647)." Museum. History of St. Charles . St. Charles Museum and Historical Association,
29 2012. Web. 30 Nov 2012. <http://museum.historyofstcharlesparish.org>.

*  These articles and more are taken from a book published by the authors entitled St. Charles Parish, Louisiana: A Pictorial History.


 

 

Comments

Category: 1826 Courthouse