F oot ferries were Taft to Norco foot ferry. (Photo courtesy of Bryan Zeringue) also a popular mode of travel on the river and bayous. In 1887 parish officials decided the ferry system landing fees should be studied. In the past, travelers were at the mercy of having to pay fair and “not so fair” fees to whomever provided landings. Competition at other landings was irrelevant as traveling up or down the River Road to get to the next landing was, at times, very difficult. After several years of allowing ferry service without parish jurisdiction, it was determined that ferry privileges throughout the parish would be implemented with parish oversight.

Bayou Des Allemands foot ferry. (Photo courtesy of Pat Yoes)

 

There were seven German Coast ferry landings
in 1883 as this October 13 St. Charles Herald
indicates. Similar notices appeared frequently
in The Herald. The Mississippi River remained
a major corridor for travelers during the
eighteenth century. During the nineteenth
century, the dirt roadways were still, at times,
impassable due to rainstorms and crevasses,
and the river remained a primary “highway.”

 

< < Prev Next > >

 

 

 

Explore...


 Images

bayou foot ferry The George Prince Ferry Memorial was dedicated on October 17, 2009.

> > See More


 Related Entries

The Luling/Destrehan Ferry disaster

Ferry
The October 20, 1976, collision on the Mississippi River of the George Prince…

 

Automobile and pedestrian ferry

Ferry Service Ends
The opening Early ferry service in the 1930s wasn’t always an easy crossing…

> > Related Entries


 Media

VIDEO

Around The Parish: Memorial Wrap Up

 

VIDEO

The Luling Ferry Disaster

> > See More



 

 

 

 

 

 

Copyright © This text is copyright material by Marilyn Richoux, Joan Becnel and Suzanne Friloux, from St. Charles Parish, Louisiana: A Pictorial History, 2010.