T radition The Little Red Churchholds that the 1740 St. Charles log chapel was destroyed by fire in 1806 and rebuilt the same year. It was replaced by a wood-framed structure and painted red. The “Little Red Church” became a famous landmark for river travelers. Passengers going downriver were relieved to see the Red Church because it meant New Orleans was only twenty-five miles away. The crews and roustabouts would be excited because they would be paid off at this point to shouts of, “Voila! L’Eglise Rouge!” or “Oh, look, there it is – the Little Red Church.” In 1806, the Trépagnier Little Red Church (Photo courtesy of Fay Walker Louque) family donated a statue of St. Charles Borromeo that stood on the premises for over one hundred years. This statue is
the only tangible link
to the name St. Charles Borromeo. The “Church of the Germans” stood for over one hundred years and was still
in place when the
present stucco mission
style church was built
in 1921.

 

 

< < Prev Next > >

 

 

 

Explore...


 Images

Red Church, March 20, 1859. By Fr. Paret Little Red Church Historical Marker

> > See More


 Related Entries

Front Elevation. By Father Paret.” title=

Red Church Rectory Fire - 1877
In 1877, an arsonist set fire to the Presbytery (rectory) of the Little Red Church. It burned…

 

Father John F. Basty.

Little Red Church
The Little Red Church, built in 1806, has been standing now on the 1770 Spanish…

> > Related Entries



 

 

 

 

 

 

Copyright © This text is copyright material by Marilyn Richoux, Joan Becnel and Suzanne Friloux, from St. Charles Parish, Louisiana: A Pictorial History, 2010.