Related Entries

Click on the "Read More" button to explore the relating entries.

Return to Governor Georg Michael Hahn  

Related Entries relating to "Governor Georg Michael Hahn"

President Abraham Lincoln

The Emancipation Proclamation

"On January l, 1863, President Lincoln issued the final Emancipation Proclamation, which freed all slaves in those areas of the Confederate States of America that had not yet returned to Union control. Due to early control by the North, thirteen parishes were exempt from the proclamation as they were considered to be “Union parishes.” St. Charles was one of the thirteen. Congress then passed the Fourteenth Amendment..." Read More


Flagville Historical Marker

Flaggville, Hahnville

"In 1870, Judicial District Judge Othello Jerome Flagg, a Union soldier formally affiliated with the Freedmen’s Bureau, purchased five arpents of land adjacent to the area called the courthouse site. In 1872, Civil Engineer Thomas Sharpe surveyed and with Flagg developed the Village of Flaggville. The Flaggville Colored School, which continued until..." Read More


The St. Charles-Herald was published at the Triche House in Hahnville from 1888
to 1954. The addition to the right of the house was added to prepare and publish
the newspaper.

First Parish Newspaper

"The first issue of the St. Charles Herald was dated February 15, 1873. It is understood that this newspaper was started and owned by ex-Governor Georg Michael Hahn. With a friend, Marsellus Vallas, Hahn opened an office on the corner of Hahn and Front streets in Hahnville. The Herald was considered Hahn’s “mouthpiece” and ..." Read More


The 1970’s East Bank Regional Library in Destrehan.

Library

"History indicates that as early as 1872, Governor Hahn “laid out” a library for the parish seat of Hahnville. There is no evidence to indicate this library ever materialized, but the seed for the need of such a facility had been planted. The idea would not come to fruition until much later. In the 1940s, citizens in the community began writing letters of inquiry to the Louisiana State Library. Finally, their persistence paid off. According to an article in the St. Charles..." Read More


Parish officials, circa 1890, are standing in front of old courthouse. Back row, left to right: Anthony Madere, a later sheriff; Mr. Bestoso, court crier; Mr. Terregrossa, a deputy sheriff, and Frank Friloux. Mr. Charles Elfer, assessor, stands in the middle. Lower row, left to right stand: Judge Gauthier; Hicks Lewis Youngs, police juror; Sheriff Lewis Ory, who was later murdered; William Lussan, who later served as president of the police jury and its treasurer for twenty-eight
years; and J. C. Triche, Sr., clerk of court, whose family owned the the St. Charles Herald for over sixty years.

Public Education

"The LeMoyne brothers, Iberville and Bienville, were timeless advocates of schools to educate the colonial children. "He [Bienville] proposed the establishment of a school in New Orleans where the boys could be taught geometry, geography, and other subjects. He wrote, 'young men brought up in luxury and idleness are of little use.'" (E. Davis, Louisiana: The Pelican State) During the colonial period and before the establishment of public education, schooling..." Read More