Related Entries

Click on the "Read More" button to explore the relating entries.

Return to Paradis  

Related Entries relating to "Paradis"

The St. Charles-Herald was published at the Triche House in Hahnville from 1888
to 1954. The addition to the right of the house was added to prepare and publish
the newspaper.

First Parish Newspaper

"The first issue of the St. Charles Herald was dated February 15, 1873. It is understood that this newspaper was started and owned by ex-Governor Georg Michael Hahn. With a friend, Marsellus Vallas, Hahn opened an office on the corner of Hahn and Front streets in Hahnville. The Herald was considered Hahn’s “mouthpiece” and..." Read More


(Source for photo: Publication published in the early 1900s by the St. Charles Development
Company, Waterloo, Iowa; currently part of the Suzanne Friloux collection)

Black Prince Bayou

"During this same time period in the far reaches of the parish, near Des Allemands, a speculative land deal was taking place. The St. Charles Development Company, Inc., of Waterloo, Iowa, was soliciting individuals to move to a tract of land which encompassed “thirteen thousand acres of smooth prairie land and five hundred acres of timber, consisting of cypress, gum, hackberry, and live..." Read More